Flood Warning Schemes & Areas

Fws Banner V2

As Scotland's national flood forecasting and warning authority, the Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA) works closely with local communities to help improve resilience and reduce the impact of flooding. SEPA is committed to the maintenance of existing and delivery of new flood warning schemes as detailed in our Flood Warning Development Framework 2017-2021.

Scotland’s flood warning schemes

There are currently 289 different flood warning areas in Scotland. 

A flood warning scheme/area represents a designated area where the flood warning service is delivered. The flood warning area generally follows a specific river catchment or length of coastline where communities are at risk from flooding.

Since 2012, 7 new flood warning schemes have been designed and implemented. Find out more about the flood warning schemes launched to date:


Kirkconnel Flood Warning Area

Orkney Coastal Flood Warning Scheme

North East of Scotland Flood Warning Scheme


River Cree Flood Warning Scheme

River Esk Flood Warning Scheme

River Garnock Flood Warning Scheme

Loch Lomond and River Leven Flood Warning Scheme

Firth of Forth (Alloa and Airth) Flood Warning Scheme


Solway Firth Flood Warning Scheme


Upcoming flood warning schemes

A further 14 new river and coastal flood warning schemes will be delivered by 2021. These schemes were identified as priority areas in the Flood Risk Management Strategies and Plans. Future flood protection works or schemes will be implemented in the next cycle of development (2021-2027):

Annick Water (Ayrshire)

Outer Hebrides Coast

River Carron (Falkirk)

River Forth (Aberfoyle)

Fife Catchements (details subject to further feasibility assesment)